Monday, August 24, 2009

A Month of Monkees: An Alternate Reality Part 4

Continuing on with the "Alternate Reality" series on Monkees LPs, today we feature the Alternate Reality "Pisces, Aquarius, Capricorn & Jones, LTD.". As with "Headquarters", the track listing comes from an authentic early line-up, keeping it close to the original (you can't mess with perfection!). The one huge difference was the omission of "Love Is Only Sleeping". This was because in the "alternate reality", that song was the non-LP single (as it was originally supposed to be for real). Also, the joke announcement recorded by Peter is added to the top of the track line-up. Originally, this was perceived as too much of an in-joke and it was left off of the album. Here in the "alternate reality", it gets the green light and is released.

1. Special Announcement
2. She Hangs Out
3. Salesman
4. Cuddly Toy
5. Words
6. Don't Call On Me
7. Goin' Down
8. The Door Into Summer
9. Hard To Believe
10. What Am I Doing Hangin' 'Round?
11. Peter Percival Patterson's Pet Pig Porky/Pleasant Valley Sunday
12. Daily Nightly
13. Star Collector

As with the other alternate reality LPs, Michelle 66's original art contained "Bonus Tracks" on the mini-LP. Once again I chose to keep it "bonus track free" to make it feel more like a legitimate release from the 60s. And as with the others, many of the tracks used are alternate takes and recordings. Enjoy!

The Monkees-Pisces, Aquarius, Capricorn & Jones, LTD. Alternate Reality LP

To see the original artwork that was put together by Michelle 66, head over to her Flicker page. Drop her a line and tell her the Dartman sent you!


prof. grewbeard said...

"Love Is Only Sleeping" is my favorite on this one! so much for alternate reality!

Dartman said...

Sorry about that Grewbeard. I love that song myself. However, this was a collaboration with the original artist who came up with the idea so I kind of had to do a little give and take. How about this: in the alternate reality, Love Is Only Sleeping is released as a single and becomes the band's last giant number 1 which prompts Rhino to release it as a bonus track on the remastered set that gets released in 2007. Not only that, but during the big reunion of all four original members in 1986, they perform that song at their historic LA concert. Not a bad scenario . . .

prof. grewbeard said...

not bad at all!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin